Rush, Arthur Fogel, Marilyn Denis Honored at Canadian Music & Broadcast Industry Awards

No Comments 24 April 2017

Rush, Arthur Fogel, Marilyn Denis Honored at Canadian Music & Broadcast Industry Awards

Five legendary Canadian names - concert promoter Arthur Fogel, broadcaster Marilyn Denis, and artists Rush, 54.40 and Jann Arden - were celebrated with big awards at Canadian Music Week’s 35th annual Canadian Music & Broadcast Industry Awards (MBIA), Thursday evening in Grand Ballroom of Toronto’s Sheraton Centre.

Attended by a who’s who of Canadians and visiting international delegates in town for CMW, April 18-23, including three days jammed full of industry-focused keynotes and panels and six nights of live music all over the city.

Author:Karen Bliss

Only the special awards were presented onstage, ensuring that each person was given their due. The other 36 awards were quickly revealed in batches over the course of the two-and-a-half-hour show, as the categories and the nominees flashed on the video screens.

In tributes that mixed the heartfelt with the funny - one much, much, funnier than the others and some, understandably, not funny at all - the Allan Slaight Humanitarian Award was presented to rock trio Rush; Arthur Fogel, rock band 54.40 and singer-songwriter Jann Arden who were all inducted into the Canadian Music Industry Hall of Fame; and Marilyn Denis was given the Allan Waters Broadcast Lifetime Achievement Award. Executive Susan Marjetti also received the Rosalie Award for a lifetime achievement in radio.

The dozens of other awards were announced over the speakers, as the categories and nominees flashed on screen, this included: broadcasting, live touring, record, retail and other industry categories.

Read More/Original Source:

  • Google+
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Reddit

Your Comments

No Comments

Share your view

Post a comment

Submit the word you see below:

Notify me of follow-up comments?